In the middle of the road of my life
I awoke in the dark wood
where the true way was wholly lost
(???)
In the middle of the journey of our life
I found myself astray in a dark wood
where the straight road had been lost sight of.
(Seamus Heaney)
In the middle of my journey through life,
a dark wood overcame me
for I had lost my way.
(???)
In the middle of our life’s walk
I found myself in a dark wood
for the straight road was lost
(???)
In the middle of the journey of our life
I came to myself within a dark wood
where the straight way was lost.
(John D. Sinclair)
At the midpoint of the journey’s life
I found myself lost in a dark forest
with no straight path I could see anywhere.
(M.L. Rosenthal)
At midpoint of the journey of our life
I woke to find me astray in a dark wood,
perplexed by paths with the straight way at strife.
(Geoffrey L. Bickersteth)
Midway life’s journey I was made aware
That I had strayed into a dark forest,
And the right path appeared not anywhere.
(Laurence Binyon)
Midway on our life’s journey, I found myself
In dark woods, the right road lost.
(Robert Pinsky)
Midway upon the journey of our life
I found myself within a forest dark,
For the straightforward pathway had been lost.
(Henry Longfellow)
Midway upon the road of our life
I found myself within a dark wood
for the right way had been missed.
(Charles Eliot Norton)
Midway through the journey of our life, I found
myself in a dark wood, for I had strayed
from the straight pathway to this tangled ground.
(Palma)
Midway in the journey of our life
I came to myself in a dark wood,
for the straight way was lost.
(Hollander)
Midway in our life’s journey, I went astray
from the straight road and woke to find myself
alone in a dark wood.
(Joan Ciardi)
Midway in the journey of our life
I found myself in a dark wood,
for the straight way was lost.
(Charles Singleton)
Midway along the journey of our life
I woke to find myself in some dark woods,
for I had wandered off from the straight path.
(Mark Musa)
Midway in the course of our life
I found myself within a dark wood,
where the right way was lost.
(Rev. H.F. Tozer)
Midway in human life’s allotted span,
I found myself in a dark wood,
where the straight path I sought in vain.
(Ronald Bottrall)
In the midway of this our mortal life,
I found me in a gloomy wood, astray
Gone from the path direct
(Henry F. Cary, Mario Praz)
Upon the journey of our life midway
I came unto myself in a dark wood,
For the straight path I had gone astray.
(Jefferson B. Fletcher)
In the midst of my journey through this life of ours,
I was in a dark forest,
because I had lost the right road.
(Allan Gilbert)
One night, when half my life behind me lay,
I wandered from the straight lost path afar.
Through the great dark was no releasing way
(Wright)
When I had journeyed half of our life’s way,
I found myself within a shadowed forest,
for I had lost the path that does not stray.
(Allen Mandelbaum)
Halfway along the journey of our life,
Having strayed from the right path and lost it,
I awoke to find myself in a dark wood.
(Harriet Rubin)
Halfway through the story of my life
I came to in a gloomy wood, because
I’d wandered off the path, away from the light
(Ciaran Carson)
Halfway through our trek in life
I found myself in this dark wood,
miles away from the right road.
(Steve Ellis)
Halfway through the journey we are living
I found myself deep in a darkened forest,
For I had lost all trace of the straight path.
(James Finn Cotter)
Halfway along the path of this existence
I found that I was in a gloomy wood,
My right way being blotted by the distance.
(Louis How)
Halfway along the road we have to go,
I found myself obscured in a great forest,
Bewildered, and I knew I had lost the way
(Sisson, Oxford World Classics)
Halfway upon the road of our life,
I came to myself amid a dark wood
where the straight path was confused.
(Arthur J. Butler)
Once, halfway through the journey of our life
I found myself inside a shadowy wood,
because the proper road had disappeared.
(Sean O’Brien)
Half-way upon the journey of our life
I roused to find myself within a forest
In darkness, for the straight way had been lost.
(Henry Johnson)
About halfway through the course of my pathetic life,
I woke up and found myself in a stupor in some dark place
(Birk and Sanders)
Just halfway through this journey of our life
I reawoke to find myself inside
a dark wood, way off course, the right road lost.
(Tom Phillips)
There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

